Overpriced & Overrated

As  a person who absolutely loves any product that has to do with beauty (cosmetics, nail polish, hair products, etc.) I find myself trying new products all of the time. There are some things that I’m so glad I chose to take a risk on but then there are some products that I just plain hated myself for spending my hard-earned money on. There are some products that receive rave- reviews from all of the major women’s magazines that I just dont understand why. So, I put together a list of the products that I totally regretted ever buying. I’m sure some people will be surprised at some of the things listed and I’m sure some won’t. There are many factors as to why I feel negative about these products and I’ll try my best to explain why. Hope you enjoy and find my comments helpful.

Essie Nail Polish

Two words: sticky & streaky. I hate that I hate this nail polish becuase they have really great colors but I just can’t get over spending about $8 for tiny bottle of sticky, thick nail polish. I’ll just “stick” with OPI (I’m soo witty, I know).

Maybelline’s Great Lash Mascara

I really do not see how this mascara is such a big deal! It’s runny, leaky, and the brush is terrible. Allure raves about this mascara and it has been around for ages and is known as “America’s Favorite Mascara” but it’s definitely NOT mine. Seriously, I don’t get it!

Mister Smooth by Givenchy

I bought this face primer at full price (about $40) like a total idiot. It’s basically face lotion NOT primer. I did not feel that it did anything to make my foundation last longer or look smoother. I knew I should’ve just stuck with Smashbox’s Photo Finish. Lesson learned.

Nars Blush in “Orgasm”

This blush has gotten so much publicity in the past couple of years. I don’t really dislike this blush too much, I actually use it often in the summer. The problem I have with this blush is that it’s pretty bright for someone with light skin like me. I’ve used this on darker skins and it turns out gorgeous but on light skin you have to use it pretty moderately or you’ll end up with Raggedy Ann cheeks. I would suggest going a tone lighter if you have light skin because it’s definitely NOT for everyone. I wish beauty editors would’ve given a warning about this one.

Clinique’s 3-Step Skin Care System

I received this 3-Step cleansing system for Christmas one year. It was awful. I broke out so bad and my skin was left red and dry. I still have the clarifying lotion in my bathroom cabinet (it died and went to beauty product heaven..or hell for that matter). I’m not sure if used the wrong level or what but I would still refuse to use it basically because I’ve learned to keep it simple when it somes to cleansing. I just use Purity twice a day and Derma E lotion I get from Whole Foods to moisturize. That, along with exfoliating 2-3 times week  and ALWAYS removing your makeup before sleeping is all you need. You don’t need to spend $60 on a skin care line to take care of your skin.

Nars Lip Gloss

I don’t know about you but I hate lip glosses that smell and taste bad. This is one of those lip glosses. The colors and consistencies are great but the smell is pretty stale and tends to get worse over time. Obviously I don’t eat lip gloss but it does tend to sometimes get in your mouth and this gloss will make you (well at least me) gag if it does. I’d rather spend the $25 this gloss is worth on something I enjoy the taste of.

Makeup Forever HD Foundation

I’m currently using this foundation and I really don’t see what the big deal is. With all the reviews I read about this I thought this foundation would be the best thing to ever hit my skin but I was pretty unimpressed. It’s not the worst but it’s definitely not the best. I would rather use MAC’s Studio Tech foundation, it covers better and you’ll save about $10.

Urban Decay “Glitter” Eyeshadows

Don’t get me wrong I really like Urban Decay eyeshadows, I just don’t like their “glittery” eyeshadows. Even after layering on coats of primer the freakin glitter from the eyeshadow  falls all over my face and it’s pretty hard to remove. It’s pretty annoying for a $15 eyeshadow.

Chi Flat Iron

I’ve had two of these in the course of three years and they both have broken on me. The first time one of the plates went out on me and the second time one of the screws came loose. Never again.

Kenra Volume Hair Spray

Luckily I got this hairspray as a free gift with purchase so it didn’t hurt the bank account. However, it did kill the excitement of receiving of what I thought would be a great product. This hairspray first of all smells like paint thinner and then its sprays more like a spritz than a aerosol so it leaves your hair pretty crispy and crunchy. Oh and it didn’t add volume to my hair whatsoever.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Overpriced & Overrated

  1. […] posted a blog post titled Overpriced and Overrated a while back and it included the original Great Lash in it. I seriously do not get why these […]

Leave a Reply

