Top 10 Most Loved Dresses From Movies

I thought I would start out my very first blog post with something fun. For those of you that don’t know me, I am a total movie nerd. My sisters and I got our love for movies from our parents. Renting movies from blockbuster every Friday night was what we looked forward to every week in our childhood. Movies always have and always will take me to a fantasy place far away from reality where dreams come true, good always triumphs over evil, and life has the perfect soundtracks and original scores for every scene of your life. Oh and most importantly, the absolute prefect dress comes along for that special event either through your fairy godmother, a rich, handsome creeper, or someone you know just so happened to have it in their closet and lent it to you. Yes, these are the dresses that you will always remember and hope to one day find for your special event.

The following list of my most loved dresses to ever grace the Hollywood cinema will take you back to those breath taking moments when you first saw them on the big screen. The dresses that would make you give anything to be the movie star wearing the dress for just one moment. These dresses are the first thing we remember when we hear the titles of these movies so here it is, I hope you enjoy.

10. Hillary Duff in Cinderella Story 

“Love the dress, hate her”

csdress

Ah every girl dreams of a Cinderella moment like this. I think that this dress hits home with me because this movie came out my senior year of high school. The costume dance scene where Duff walks down the stairs in this lovely, sparkly, white dress is truly memorable. The dress was a one of a kind design by well-known wedding dress designer, Monique Lhuillier.

9.  Julia Roberts in My Best Friend’s Wedding

You wouldn’t be comfortable unless you were distinct”

jrdress

This dress is not one most people would put on a list like this but I can’t help it. I absolutely love this dress even to this day. Julia Roberts looked so elegant and graceful in this lavender silk, halter dress created by costume designer Jeffrey Kurland. I was ten years old when I saw this movie and this stunning dress made me hope to be maid of honor one day.

8. Audrey Hepburn in Sabrina

“Sabrina, Sabrina where have you been all of my life?”

sabrinadress

The dress is by Givenchy. Enough said. Hubert de Givenchy was actually expecting to design for Catherine Hepburn not Audrey Hepburn for this movie and he was less than impressed to see Audrey show up in a t-shirt and cropped pants for the appointment . Luckily, Audrey won him over with her delightful charm and the two created iconic fashion collaborations with Givenchy continuing to design for her in Funny Face and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. This black and white ensemble is the epitome of classy. Mrs. Hepburn looks so chic and elegant in this ball gown. The first time I saw this dress I remember thinking this dress is way too fashionable for a 1950’s movie and then I grew to learn that the 1950’s was a very fashionable decade. It was when class and elegance graced the cinema the most. Bravo Mrs. Hepburn for setting the standards high for style in Hollywood and the rest of the world.

7. Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s

“I’m just CRAZY about Tiffany’s!” 

BATDRESS
Well obviously I couldn’t leave this classic off the list. What a way to start out a movie: Audrey Hepburn eating breakfast in front of the Tiffany’s window in a floor length, simple but stunning black, sheath dress designed by Givenchy. It is paired with the perfect accessories: strings of pearls, elbow length gloves, and big shades. This dress is without a doubt one of the most historic dresses in fashion history. It is why most ladies own a black dress. It’s simple, elegant and safe. Bravo again Mrs. Hepburn.

6. Audrey Hepburn in My Fair Lady

“Move your bloomin arse!”

MFLDRESS

Okay, okay Hepburn again, I know but don’t you see why? The Horse Race scene in this movie is one of my favorite movie scenes of all time. All of the black, white, and gray costumes, the singing, the graceful dancing, the English accents…so entrancing.  Then whenever Hepburn enters the scene with the black and white ascot dress it is just breath taking. She just looks like a pretty present I just want to unwrap so that I can wear the wrappings myself. Cecil Beaton did an impressive costume design in this movie and has the Oscar to prove it.

5. Demi Moore in Indecent Proposal 

     “The dress is for sale, I’m not”

ipdress

Demi Moore. I couldn’t think of a better woman to fill this black, strapy number designed by Thierry Mugler. Wow just wow. What lonely, millionaire man wouldn’t offer a mil for one night with her?! Demi Moore looks timeless in this gown. She combines sexy with elegance in the $5,000.00 dress Robert Redford buys her in Indecent Proposal. Again, wow.

4. Jennifer Lopez in Maid in Manhattan

You and me, can’t go anywhere beyond this evening. It just can’t.”
-“You should’ve worn a different dress then”

mimdress

Gasp. At least that’s what I do every time I see Jennifer Lopez in this dress. Maid in Manhattan is another modern day Cinderella story with an outstanding dress to go with it. Jennifer Lopez looks absolutely spectacular in this pale pink, strapless, chiffon gown designed by costume designer Albert Wolsky. I also have to give credit to the Harry Winston wreath necklace she wears with the dress, its the perfect finishing touch to this gorgeous ensemble.

3. Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman 

“If I forget to tell you later, I had a really good time tonight”
pwdress

The epic red dress. Julia Roberts will always and forever be remembered for this stunning red dress she wears to the opera. Costume designer Marilyn Vance was originally told to make the dress in black….seriously?! Luckily, Vance made the right decision otherwise the movie just would not have been the same.

2. Marilyn Monroe in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes 

“I always say a kiss on the hand might feel very good,but a diamond tiara lasts forever.”   

gpbdress

I can still recall the first moment I saw this jaw-dropping dress. My sister Crystal was and still is obsessed with the TCM channel. One night I remember passing through the living room while she was watching an old movie on TCM and I had to take a double take of the television screen once I saw the hot pink dress with the big bow. I was in awe and couldn’t move as I saw the lovely Marylin dancing with numerous men in tuxedos while singing about diamonds. Costume designer William Travilla couldn’t have designed a better dress for this fabulous musical number in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.

1. Cinderella in Cinderella 

“Did ever see such a beautiful dress? And look glass slippers! Why, it’s like a dream…. a wonderful dream come true”
CDRESS


So of course this had to be my number one choice. Even though this movie is animated it is still the first dream gown that created them all. Disney fairy tales have a way of creating magic on the screen especially when it comes to Disney princess fashion. I’m sure we can all remember watching this movie as little girls and wishing to be Cinderella going to the ball to meet prince charming in this glittery, pale blue gown. This dress is a truly magical piece of art that is a great reference as to what a great dress moment should be.

For reference and further reading

http://archives.cnn.com/2002/SHOWBIZ/Movies/11/29/in.look.style.j.lopez/

http://blogs.wsj.com/speakeasy/2012/09/04/hubert-de-givenchy-remembers-audrey-hepburn/

http://www.elle.com/pop-culture/reviews/happy-birthday-pretty-woman-437978

http://www.marieclaire.com/fashion/greatest-movie-dresses-ever#slide-1

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Most Loved Dresses From Movies

  1. […] ← Top 10 Most Loved Dresses From Movies […]

  2. Reblogged this on Strictly Shopaholic and commented:
    A little something for the movie maniacs!

  3. tiffany johnson says:

    Do you know where I can purchase the dress Jennifer lopez has on ?

Leave a Reply

